Irwin 2011

See upcoming exhibitions:

2011 Irwin Scholars
25th Anniversary
MAY 25 – JUNE 11

 Opening Reception:

Wednesday, May 25


 Awards Ceremony 6:00pm

free and open to the public


Kelsey Spencer, Chelsea Ware,  Ellia Sarah Duhart, Kirsten Spooner, Richard Desanto, Luke Wilson, Sakura Kelley, Luis Flores, Olivia Healy-Mirkovich, Bela Messex, Leslie Thompson, Joseph Lai, Raphael Cornford


Since 1986, the William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund has become a public display of support and appreciation towards art and art's involvement in our culture. The artists chosen to receive an Irwin scholarship represent the artistic innovation and social exploration happening at UCSC. Individually, each artist is chosen because of their dedication to their own process and inspiration, but as a collective the Irwin scholars become a representative microcosm of the unique artistic movements happening at UCSC right now.

The 2011 Irwin Scholarship exhibition is on view at the Sesnon Gallery, Porter College, UC Santa Cruz from May 25 through June 11. The opening reception is Wednesday, May 25 from 5:00–7:00pm and will include an awards ceremony at 6:00pm.

 The Sesnon Gallery encourages interdisciplinary discourse through the lens of the arts. Gallery hours are Tuesday–Saturday, noon to 5:00pm and Wednesday until 8:00pm. The gallery is located at Porter College, UCSC and is wheelchair accessible. Admission is free and parking is free on Saturdays. Parking permits are available weekdays at the main campus entrance kiosk for $6/day and $3 at the Porter College lot for special events. Group tours are available by appointment at (831) 459-3606.



Press Release2011.pdf406.23 KB