You are here

Opening Reception for IRWIN 2020: Collective Solitude (ONLINE)

IRWIN 2020: Collective Solitude
Wed, Jun 3, 2020, 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm

IRWIN 2020: Collective Solitude opens ONLINE June 3, 2020
Online Reception through Zoom: June 3, 6:00-7:00pm
Awards and remarks by Irwin Scholars from all over California 6:15pm
RSVP for the Online Reception via Zoom

Exhibition Dates: 
Wed, June 3, 2020 to Tue, June 30, 2020

IRWIN 2020: Collective Solitude
This year’s UC Santa Cruz Irwin Scholarship recipients draw inspiration from the struggle against great distances for connection.

The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery is excited to introduce IRWIN 2020: Collective Solitude, the 34th annual Irwin Scholarship Award exhibition, which showcases the work of a select group of UC Santa Cruz’s most promising young artists. This year's Irwin Scholars exhibition will be virtual through a 3D model of the Sesnon Gallery. Launching on June 3, 2020, this free exhibition will be accessible ONLINE 24/7.

The 2020 Irwin Scholars areThe 2020 Irwin Scholars are
Aarón Martínez
Anastasia Oleson
Angel Gonzales
Chloe Murr  
Dominic Ramirez
Edgar Cruz
Emma McWaid
Jocelyn Lee
Joshua Zupan
Morgan Tomfohr
Natalie Del Castillo
Rodrigo Ramos
Veriche Blackwell

About the Irwin Scholarship and the Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery
As a way of ensuring that others would have the kind of art education that allowed her to flourish in the art community, the late Sue Irwin established the William Hyde And Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund in 1986 in honor of her husband. The Irwin Scholarship and group show is granted annually to undergraduate UCSC students for proven excellence in the arts.

The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery encourages interdisciplinary discourse through the lens of the arts. The gallery is currently closed through Spring 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions. For more information email

Instagram: @sesnon.ucsc