You are here

IRWIN 2015

Thu, May 28, 2015, 12:00 am to Fri, May 29, 2015, 1:59 am
Sesnon Art Gallery at Porter College

The 2015 Irwin Scholars are:
Seth Andrews
Austin Carlson
Nesho Dimov
Rachel Finn
Melanya Hamasyan
Haley Jensen
Alex Khah
Cedar Kirwin
Edward Ramirez
Maria Montes Tapia
Anthony Torrano
Grant Wells

IRWIN 2015: Origins & Perceptions

Our exhibition is an invitation for dialogue.

We recall our origins.  

We invite the audience to ritual spaces.  

We question the notions of luxury and wealth.

We reveal what authorities hide and what powers instill fear.

We confront the binaries limiting our experiences.  

We interrogate the logistics of urbanization.

We create awareness and dialogue alongside ecology.

We notice the improprieties of societal labor.  

About the Irwin Scholarship
The William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund was established in 1986, with a modest donation by Sue Irwin, and now generates 12 annual merit scholarships to further the education of selected UC Santa Cruz students for proven excellence in the arts. The scholars are nominated by the art department faculty to submit a portfolio of work and then are selected by an all faculty vote. 

View past Irwin Scholars exhibitions