You are here

Irwin 2022 Opening Reception

An image of visitors surrounding the koi pond, located on the ground floor of the Sesnon Gallery
Wed, Jun 1, 2022, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Porter College koi pond

The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery pleased to present Irwin 2022: Emulsion, the 36th annual Irwin Scholarship exhibition, which showcases the work of a select group of UC Santa Cruz’s accomplished young artists from the Art Department. Please join us for the opening reception, in-person at the Porter College koi pond, to celebrate the achievements of these 12 remarkable artists. 

The 2022 Irwin Scholars are Aja Bond, Marceline Cyrus, Brennan Elliott, Thomas Goldie, Nico Gu, Elena Ibbetson, Valerie Jackson, Lucien Jacobs, mari mafnas, Amelia Smyth, Elijah Solow Ohashi, and Christy Yee.

Wednesday June 1, 2022
5:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Remarks and awards ceremony at 5:30 p.m.
The reception will be held outdoors at the gallery, beside the Porter koi pond.

Remarks at 5:30pm from Dean of the Arts Celine Parreñas-Shimizu, Associate Professor in Print Media and Irwin faculty advisor, Enrique Leal, and the 2022 Irwin Scholars.
Visitors must be in compliance with Covid-19 protocols. Please complete a symptom check before or upon arrival.

About the Irwin Scholarship
The William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund was established in 1986, with a modest donation by Sue Irwin, and now generates 12 annual merit scholarships to further the education of selected UC Santa Cruz students for proven excellence in the arts. The scholars are nominated by the art department faculty to submit a portfolio of work and then are selected by an all faculty vote. This annual, professionally organized exhibition has become a tradition in the art department and for the Sesnon Gallery for 36 years. This scholarship shows the far-reaching effects of support for the arts.