You are here

Irwin Scholars

The William Hyde Irwin and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship is our most prestigious student scholarship.  At the end of Fall quarter, thirty students are nominated by full time faculty to submit work for competition. Make sure that you are on their radar and that the faculty know who you are by being active in class, attending office hours and working closely with faculty on your projects. If you are interested in being considered do not hesitate to set up an appointment with a ladder rank faculty member to ask them specifically what you can do to be considered as an applicant. Ladder faculty meet as a group at the beginning of Winter quarter to select the year's Irwin Scholarship recipients. Exceptional students from each area are invited to apply in Winter.  Selection is based on the excellence of the nominees' creative work. Twelve students receive $2,500 and a highly-publicized group show in the Mary Porter Sesnon Gallery during Spring quarter.

IRWIN SCHOLARS 2018 SHOW - Identification

Dates: Wed, May 30, 2018 to Sat, Jun 16, 2018

Location: Sesnon Gallery, Porter Faculty Gallery, Sesnon Underground

Reception Wednesday, May 30th 5pm - 7pm - Awards ceremony at 6pm


Irwin Scholars 2018:

Irma Barbosa 

Krystal Barrera 

Patricia Garcia 

Jorge Gomez Gonzalez 

Tom-Jhon Hamouzas 

Kelly Leung 

Ishmael Lipman

Soren Neumeister 

Melissa Ortiz 

Thovatey Tep 

Veronica Wang 

Vincent Williams 

 The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery is delighted to present IRWIN 2018, the 32nd annual Irwin Scholarship Award exhibition entitled Identification, which showcases the work of a select group of UC Santa Cruz’s most promising young artists: Irma Barbosa, Krystal Barrera, Patricia Garcia, Jorge Gomez-Gonzalez, Tom-Jhon Hamouzas, Kelly Leung, Ishmael Lipman, Soren Neumeister, Melissa Ortiz, Thovatey Tep, Veronica Wang, and Vincent Williams.

Drawing from personal experience, IRWIN 2018: Identification investigates the gray area between identity and being identified. The link considers the role of history, culture, trauma, and institutions and how they can form one’s identity through a personal or collective experience. The artists use their bodies or allude to the figure in their art as a way to explore and question the markers of identity.

The show will display an array of paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture and video installations as well as a live performance scheduled during the opening reception.

Identification examines the process of imposing identity on another and how the body is central to how we understand and express the fluidity of identity such as gender, sexuality, race, and ethnicity. What happens when those constantly being identified choose to take back their bodies and dissect the categorization process?

“The Irwin Scholarship award recognizes promising young artists whose hard work, focus, passion, and achievement have been profoundly expressed in their artistic creations,” says  UC Santa Cruz Professor of Art Jimin Lee. “This exhibition shows the proud fruits of the labors of many and not just the winners. The UCSC Art Department is proud of our twelve recipients. We look forward to their important future contributions as leaders of the next generation of young artists.”

This is a wonderful Scholarship called The Susan Benteen and William Hyde Irwin Scholarship (referred to as The Irwin Award) and is granted annually to undergraduate UCSC students for proven excellence in the arts. The students are nominated by the art department faculty to submit a portfolio of work and then they are selected by an all art department faculty vote. "This annual exhibition has become a tradition in the UCSC art department and for the Sesnon Gallery," says Director Shelby Graham, "We love working with the scholars every year!" 

 About the Irwin Family:

Susan Benteen and William Hyde Irwin retired in San Lorenzo Valley, after noted careers in the San Francisco arts community. The two shared a lifelong interest in the arts. William Irwin was a professional painter and they both taught art at San Francisco State College (now San Francisco State University) from 1932 to 1947. Susan Irwin also served as supervisor of art for San Francisco Unified School District.

After her husband’s death Sue Irwin established the William Hyde And Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund in 1986 in honor of her husband with a check for $10,000. Sue Benteen Irwin wanted others to have the same kind of art education that allowed her and her husband to flourish in a thriving arts community.  Susan Irwin received a scholarship to attend Columbia University. When she died in 1990 the endowment totaled $500,000, which provides $2,500 scholarships annually to art students in visual arts. Today the endowment has grown to over $1M generating at least 12 annual merit scholarships plus Irwin project grants open to all art students to apply for each quarter. This scholarship shows the far-reaching effects of donor support for the arts. 

William Hyde Irwin (1903 - 1982). William (Bill) Irwin was born in San Francisco, California on Oct. 14, 1903, son of painter Hallie Hyde and journalist Will Irwin. In 1910, the family settled in Brookdale where his mother designed and built the beautiful home called Rivercroft. Raised in an artistic home he first was taught to paint by his talented mother. Following his education at Stanford University, he pursued art studies at the CCAC, Académies Moderne and Colarossi in Paris, and at UC Berkeley. He later taught art at Santa Cruz High School and San Francisco State University. He enjoyed painting scenes and buildings in the San Lorenzo Valley. 

Susan J Benteen (1908 - 1990). Susan Benteen was born in Watsonville, CA on April 14, 1908. Benteen earned an M.A. degree at UC Berkeley and her teaching credentials at Columbia University. She further studied at the CCAC, Chouinard Art Institute in Los Angeles, Schaeffer School of Design in San Francisco, and with Hans Hofmann. After 1932 she was an art professor at San Francisco State College. Her articles on art education often appeared in Design magazine. 

About the Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery

The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery encourages interdisciplinary discourse through the lens of the arts. The gallery is located at Porter College above the koi pond at UC Santa Cruz, and is wheelchair accessible. Admission is free and metered parking is available at Porter College.  Gallery hours: Tuesday–Saturday, 12–5:00 p.m. and Wednesday, 12–8:00 p.m. The gallery is a short walk from the bus stop at Porter College. Group tours are available by appointment at 831-459-3606, or via email Please visit our website for more information:



Instagram: sesnon.ucsc


Irwin Scholars 2017

Irwin Scholars 2016

Irwin Scholars 2015

Irwin Scholars 2014

Irwin Scholars 2013

Irwin Scholars 2012

Irwin Scholars 2011

Irwin Scholars 2010

Irwin Scholars 2009

Irwin Scholars 2008

Irwin Scholars 2007

Irwin Scholars 2006

Irwin Scholars 2005

Irwin Scholars 2004

Irwin Scholars 2003


Follow the Irwin Scholars on Facebook.