You are here

Irwin Scholars 2011

Wed, May 25, 2011, 7:00 am to Sun, Jun 12, 2011, 6:59 am
Sesnon Gallery, Porter College

Irwin 2011: Celebrates its 25th year of Arts Scholarships
May 25 – June 11, 2011
Reception, Wed.,  May 25, 5:00 – 7:00pm
Awards Ceremony 6pm


The Sesnon Gallery’s annual Irwin Scholarship Award exhibition showcases some of UCSC’s most promising young artists working in painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, installation, video and digital media. The William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund was established in 1986, generating annual merit scholarships to further the education of selected UC Santa Cruz arts students. 2011 Irwin Scholars will celebrate its 25 year of arts scholarships. Each year we are impressed with the quality of work from the Irwin Scholars and their agency to address contemporary issues.

2011 Irwin Scholarship recipients: Raphael Cornford, Richard Desanto, Ellia Sarah Duhart, Luis Flores, Olivia Healy-Mirkovich, Sakura Kelley, Joseph Lai, Bela Messex, Kelsey Spencer, Kirsten Spooner, Leslie Thompson, Chelsea Ware, Luke Wilson

The Sesnon Gallery encourages interdisciplinary discourse through the lens of the arts. Gallery hours are Tuesday–Saturday, noon to 5:00pm and Wednesday until 8:00pm. The gallery is located in Porter College at UCSC and is wheelchair accessible. Admission is free and parking is free on Saturdays. Parking permits are available weekdays at the main campus entrance kiosk for $6/day and $3 at the Porter College lot for special events. Group tours are available by appointment at (831) 459-3606.